The US ATLAS group consists of 31 universities and 3 national laboratories. It is participating in the design, construction, operation and physics exploitation of a large general-purpose detector (ATLAS) to be installed in one of the interaction regions at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN.

The ATLAS detector consists of 4 major components: The inner tracker (yellow), calorimetry (green and orange), muon spectrometer (blue) and the magnet system (gray). The US groups (comprising of ~20% of the ATLAS institutions) are participating in all aspects of the experiment. The detector is due to begin operation in the year 2007.

A public tour of ATLAS is available at


The Scientific Challenge from the September 1996 U.S. ATLAS Proposal.

  U.S. ATLAS Institutions
 U.S. Organization

This page is maintained by the US ATLAS Webmaster.
Last Updated: October 17, 2003 : 10:29 am EDT